exFAT in Ubuntu 11.10

Why exFAT you are probably wondering. I have 5 different OS in my house: MediaPC is on Ubuntu 11.10, I’ve also got OSX Lion and Snow Leopard, Windows 7 and Vista. I was wondering what is the best FileSystem to work with all of them. For full support of NTFS under OSX I’ve only found paid solutions, FAT32 has it’s limitations (4GB max filesize)… after doing some research I’ve found that exFAT should be the one I’m looking for. It is natively supported by OSX and Windows (even XP!) the only thing was to make it work with my Ubuntu :) So here we go:

First we have to install fuse-ext:

sudo su -
add-apt-repository ppa:relan/exfat
apt-get update
apt-get install fuse-exfat

Now we are able to manualy mount exFAT-formatted drives. To make it automatical we’ll need to install couple more things:

apt-get install build-essential
apt-get install ncurses-dev
apt-get install util-linux

Everything should be working nicely now :)

Done on Ubuntu 11.10.32bit.

18 thoughts on “exFAT in Ubuntu 11.10

  1. Hi, just wannted to thank you for this post. It acually fixed my problem with my external HD. I had an OSX and Win machine and used this HD. Now trying out Ubuntu 11.10 and this problem was getting annoying (almost deal breaker).

    Thanks again. All the best!

  2. anake says:

    Thanks for this, it was very helpful.
    Just so you know you can do multiple apt-get install statements at one time e.g.
    apt-get install fuse-exfat build-essential ncurses-dev util-linux

  3. build-essential, ncurses-dev and util-linux have nothing to do with installing an exfat-fs driver from a ppa. You would only need them if you want to compile the driver on your own (e.g. not install it from a ppa as a readily built package).
    I have not installed those and everything works fine (and automatically).

  4. Cleyton Joseph says:

    I really appreciate the tutorial, I was taking a hard time thinking about wich file system to use with my macbook air, a laptop and desktop both with ubuntu 11.10. I’m installing now the driver on the laptop and using an external hard drive with exfat and MOVING my files to my pc running linux, it’s a life saver!

    Thank you so much, I’m finally can use all my computers and also pendrive on all the gadgets I have =D

Leave a Reply

